RSS

Pumpkin Spice Latte

13 Oct

https://i1.wp.com/i1009.photobucket.com/albums/af215/twocupsofsugar/IMG_0562-1.jpg

As soon as Fall hits, you know its time to run to your favourite Second Cup (or where ever you go) and grab yourself a nice big cup of pumpkin spice latte. Ahhhh… so yummy! But this little treat takes a bit of a hit on your wallet. I’m not one to buy myself an expensive coffee very often. Its a treat. So when I came a across this recipe in one of my favourite cookbooks I HAD to try it!

It was very good. I found the original recipe to be too sweet so I cut the sugar in half the second time I made it. The house smelt so good while this was heating up in the slow cooker. It was nice to sit down and relax after the kids were in bed with a big mug of pumpkin spice latte! Though the caffeine kept me up half the night afterwards!

The only thing I didn’t like about this was that a bit of a film formed on top of the latte (similar to the film that forms on a gravy thats just sitting), I had just whisked it in, but then once I got to the bottom of my cup, there it was :S (I know gross… I hope this isn’t turning you off the recipe!). I think if the film happens to me again I will try to scoop it out of the pot. Oh and as I just found out 2 seconds ago, don’t let it sit and get cold… it gets a bit thick at the bottom. Best served right away. If I find a way to get rid of these little nuisances I will let you know! Otherwise, delicious recipe and I suggest you give it a go!

~ N

https://i0.wp.com/i1009.photobucket.com/albums/af215/twocupsofsugar/IMG_0561.jpg

Pumpkin Spice Latte (From Make It Fast, Cook It Slow – By Stephanie O’Dea)
Makes 2 servings

3/4 cup strong brewed coffee or 1/2 cup espresso (I used the coffee)
2 cups of milk (I used 1% and it was fine)
2 tbsp 100% pumpkin puree (comes in a can)
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice OR 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground cloves, 1/8 tsp nutmeg ( I used these spces and I upped the spices a tad to suite my tastes) and pinch of ginger (I left this our since me and ginger do not get along)
2 tbsp sugar (I found 2 tbsp was too sweet so I cut it back to 1 tbsp the next time… still found it to be pretty sweet and will probably cut it back more next time. So sweeten to your tastes)
2 tbsp vanilla extract
Whipped cream for garnishing (optional)
2 Cinnamon sticks for garnishing (optional)

Mix all the ingredients (except for whipped cream and cinnamon sticks) together in your slow cooker (I used a pot on the stove the second time around, and just adjusted the cooking time). Cover and cook on high for 2 hours. Whisk again. Ladle into mugs and garnish as you wish.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Drinks

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
