RSS

Cookies n’ Cream Cupcakes

10 Mar

Last week a friend of mine introduced me to a place in Ottawa known as “The Flour Shoppe~ A Cupcakery.” Since Nicole and I still dream of owning our own bakery, this place made me think that one day it could be possible. It smelt sooo good, and then I had to decide what kind of cupcake to eat. I succumbed to peer pressure and dove into my cookies and cream cupcake and I was in heaven. As we finished our treats my friend asked if I was gonna try and make these now and my response was “I’m sure gonna try!”
Here it is!

INGREDIENTS for CUPCAKES
1 regular sized package of Oreo cookies
1 (18oz) package of white cake mix
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3  large eggs
1 tsp vanilla

**While I found several recipes for these cupcakes which were made entirely from scratch (which I hope to try in my next attempt), I was a little short on time and in the end no one could tell I used a store bought mix cause a few extra ingredients were added.

INGREDIENTS for ICING

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 3/4 cup confectioners sugar, sifted
a pinch of salt
1/3 cup whipping cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
remaining crushed Oreos from cupcake recipe

STEP 1) Preheat the oven to 350*F. Line cupcake trays with paper liners. Set the pans aside.


STEP 2) Separate 24 Oreos leaving one side with the as much of the icing on them as possible. The remaining half of the cookie should be set aside for the cupcake mix and icing.  Place one wafer, icing side up, in the bottom of each paper liner. Set them aside.

STEP 3) Crush the remaining whole oreos as well as the remaining halves from before into smaller pieces. (I like mine left in somewhat large crumb pieces so you can tell they are actually cookies)

STEP4) Place the cake mix, sour cream, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Blend with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Stop the machine and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat 1 1/2 minutes more, scraping down the sides again if needed. Measure out 3/4 of the crushed Oreos and fold these into the batter until well incorporated. Set aside the remaining crushed Oreos for the frosting.

STEP 4)Spoon or scoop 1/4 cup batter into each lined cup, filling it three quarters of the way full. (You will get between 22 and 24 cupcakes; remove the empty liners, if any.) Place the pans in the oven.

STEP 5) Bake the cupcakes until they are lightly golden and spring back when lightly pressed with your finger, 18 to 20 minutes. Remove the pans from the oven and place them on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes. Remove from tray and let cool on a wire rack to for 15 minutes before frosting.

STEP 6) Mix together butter, confectioners sugar, and a pinch of salt until creamy. Increase your mixer speed to high and beat until light and fluffy.

STEP 7) Add whipping cream and vanilla. Beat until its smooth.

STEP 8 ) Fold in crushed Oreos (for the icing you may want to crush your remaining oreos more finely). Makes enough to frost 24 cupcakes.
[I omitted the oreos in my frosting because I wanted my icing to be bright colours and didn’t think it would look as nice with black cookie particles throughout!]

These cupcakes got raving reviews! One person said, “I really don’t like cupcakes, but these have changed my mind. They are so flippin’ good!!!” For me equals a successful recipe, and a nice variation on the regular chocolate and vanilla cupcakes.

I think next time I might make a chocolate dough and use mint Oreos…

-K

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in Chocolate, Cookies, Cupcakes, Oreo

 

One response to “Cookies n’ Cream Cupcakes

  1. ericasedibles

    June 25, 2011 at 7:45 am

    These look so good! I love that the base it a Oreo

     

Leave a Reply

 
