RSS

Peach Cobbler

04 Sep

I had bought peaches while at the grocery store the other day but was slightly disappointed with them when I got home and had one. It tasted fine but they weren’t overly sweet and juice. So I had a basket full of peaches and was fairly certain I wouldn’t be eating the rest of them as they were, but I didn’t want to waste them either… what’s a girl to do? Peach cobbler…. I have never made peach cobbler before, heck I had never even eaten peach cobbler before… but for some reason peach cobble came to mind. I did a quick search and found a recipe that sounded pretty simple and decided to give it a try.

The results were delicious! I will definitely be making this again. The cinnamon on top was a very nice touch and it when this cake is warmed up a little and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream its a match made in heaven! Yummers!

Peach Cobbler (The Food Network – Paula Deen)

Ingredients

4 cups peaches, peeled and sliced
2 cups of sugar, divided
1/2 cup water
8 tbsp butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 1/2 cups milk
Ground Cinnamon

Directions

STEP 1) Preheat oven to 350F. Peel and slice peaches. Combine peaches, 1 cup of sugar and water in a pan and mix well. Bring to boil and simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

STEP 2) Place butter in 3 quart baking dish and place in oven to melt.

STEP 3) Mix 1 cup of sugar, flour and milk. Pour mixture over melted butter, do not stir! Spoon fruit on top and gently pour in syrup.

STEP 4) Sprinkle top with cinnamon. Bake 30 to 45 minutes

Et voila easy and delicious peach cobbler!!

The Verdict

Next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will probably reduce the amount of sugar in the syrup. I found it to be a tad too sweet. I might try half a cup instead of a full cup. I’ll let you know how it goes!

– N

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 4, 2010 in Dessert, Fruit, Peach

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
